The Sandford Awards are administered by Bishop Grosseteste University (BGU) in partnership with the Heritage Education Trust and recognise high quality in heritage education.

This year’s Sandford Awards will be presented by the Duke of Buccleuch. The ceremony will take place at 11.30am on Monday 19 November at the Tower of London and marks the 40th anniversary of the Sandford Awards.

Over the last four decades over 500 sites including historic houses, museums, galleries, places of worship, gardens, landscapes and collections have received an award. They include the Palace of Holyroodhouse in Edinburgh; official residence of Her Majesty The Queen in Scotland, Worcester Cathedral, Holdenby House in Northamptonshire, London Transport Museum and Lismore Castle Arts in Northern Ireland.

John Hamer, Chairman of the Heritage Education Trust, expressed his delight at returning to the Tower of London to celebrate the latest selection of award winners:

“We are delighted to be holding this, our 40th, Sandford Award ceremony at the Tower of London. The Tower was amongst the first small group of sites to receive an award in 1978 and since then has been a regular recipient. It is highly fitting, therefore, that we should be celebrating 40 years of Sandford Awards in this iconic setting.”

BGU has administered the award for the last 10 years and the Reverend Canon Professor Peter Neil, Vice Chancellor of BGU, discussed how he was pleased to see important heritage projects getting the recognition they deserve:

“For the past ten years BGU has worked in partnership with the Heritage Education Trust in supporting this award. During this time we have seen some excellent examples of creative and innovative programmes and this year continues that tradition of high quality entries.”

The Heritage Lottery Funded Sandford Cascade project is also administered at BGU and provides support and encouragement within heritage learning so that more sites and collections apply for the prestigious Sandford Award.

For more information about the Sandford Awards, please contact Jayne Ellis, Sandford Award Administrator, on 01522 583695 or via

Sandford Award Winners 2018

The Anglican Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham, East Anglia

Bassetlaw Museum, Nottinghamshire

The Beaney House of Art and Knowledge, Kent

Belton House, National Trust, Lincolnshire

Bosworth Battlefield Heritage Centre, Leicestershire

Boughton House, Northamptonshire

The Bowes Museum, County Durham

Brading Roman Villa, Isle of Wight

The Commandery, Worcestershire

Creswell Crags Museum and Heritage Centre, Derbyshire

Cyfarthfa Castle Museum & Art Gallery, Wales

Derby Museum and Art Gallery, Derbyshire

Dinefwr, National Trust, Wales

Discovery Point and RRS Discovery, Scotland

Eastbury Manor House, Greater London

Fota Wildlife Park, Ireland

Gilbert White & The Oates Collections, Hampshire

Hampton Court Palace, London

Harewood House Trust, West Yorkshire

The Historic Dockyard Chatham, Kent

International Bomber Command Centre, Lincolnshire

The John Moore Museum, Gloucestershire

Leeds Discovery Centre, West Yorkshire

Leeds Industrial Museum at Armley Mills, West Yorkshire

Museum of London Archaeology - Time Truck, London

Mousetrap Theatre Projects’ Creative Learning Portfolio, London

Muckross Traditional Farms, Ireland

The Museum of Cannock Chase, Staffordshire

National Civil War Centre - Newark Museum, Nottinghamshire

National Coal Mining Museum for England, West Yorkshire

National Justice Museum, Nottinghamshire

Peterborough Museum, Cambridgeshire

The Postal Museum, London

Preston Park Museum and Grounds, County Durham

The Priest’s House Museum, Dorset

Ripon Museum Trust, North Yorkshire

River & Rowing Museum, Oxfordshire

The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, Buckinghamshire

Southwell Minster and the Archbishop’s Palace, Nottinghamshire

Staircase House, Greater Manchester

St Albans Cathedral Learning, Hertfordshire

Thwaite Mills Watermill, West Yorkshire

Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Trust, Cumbria

Verdant Works, Scotland

Victoria Tunnel, Newcastle upon Tyne

Wilberforce House Museum, Hull and East Riding

Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum, the All England Lawn Tennis Club

Worcestershire County Museum

The Workhouse, Southwell, Nottinghamshire

23rd October 2018

Related Posts

Honorary Grads Banner

BGU’s 2024 Honorary Awardees Announced

BGU Graduation 2022 14 of 132

2024 Honorary Award recipients announced

Spring Campus 6 1

BGU lecturer secures grant bid of over £8000 from LPFT

IMG 7538 copy

BGU Historian Contributes to Routledge Handbook of French History

Katie Downes

Recent Graduate Nominated for British Education Award

Grad Ceremony 1 13

Six Professorial Titles Awarded to BGU Academics