sandford award logo.jpg

The winners of the 2017 Sandford Award have been announced with 37 heritage sites from across the UK receiving the honour.

The Sandford Award is managed by Bishop Grosseteste University (BGU) in Lincoln in partnership with the Heritage Education Trust.

The Award is an independently judged, quality assured assessment of education programmes at heritage sites, museums, archives and collections across the British Isles.

Almost 500 sites including historic houses, museums, galleries, places of worship, gardens, landscapes and collections – have received an Award since the scheme began in 1978.

Found out more about The Sandford Award here.

The winners are:

Abbey House Museum and Kirkstall Abbey, Leeds

Attingham Park, Shropshire

Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire

British Motor Museum, Warwickshire

Cardiff Castle, Wales

Chawton House Library in Hampshire

Cooper Gallery- Barnsley Museums

Corinium Museum, Gloucestershire

Coventry Cathedral

Fashion Museum and Assembly Rooms, Bath

Geevor Tin Mine, Cornwall

Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, Norfolk

Hull and East Riding Museum

Jane Austen's House Museum, Hampshire

Jewish Museum London

Knole, National Trust, Kent

Lamport Hall, Northamptonshire

Leeds Castle, Kent

Leeds City Museum, West Yorkshire

Lion Salt Works, Cheshire

M Shed, Bristol

Mansfield Museum, Nottinghamshire

Museum of English Rural Life, Berkshire

National Football Museum in Manchester

The Navan Centre & Fort, Northern Ireland

Norwich Castle

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, Scotland

Sentry Hill Historic House and Visitor Centre, Northern Ireland

Temple Newsam House, West Yorkshire

The Englefield Estate, Berkshire

The Geffrye Museum, London

Valence House, London

Warner Bros. Studio Tour London

Weald and Downland Living Museum, West Sussex

Weaver Hall Museum and Workhouse, Cheshire

Weston Park, Shropshire

Winding House Museum, Wales

Verulamium Museum, St Albans

York's Chocolate Story

24th August 2017